About ten years ago, the historically listed half-timbered house became a place of gathering, communication and freedom. After years of dilapidation, the historical building was saved from demolition by a private individual from Nuremberg. In the course of this came the idea to have gastronomy or similar in the lower two floors. That’s how a new home for creative and cultural-creating people was opened at the foot of the Nuremberg Imperial Castle. Oral tradition agrees that, with a few exceptions, the more than 400-year-old house has always housed a pub.
This “baby” didn’t have a name when it opened. In fact, no one had thought about it and that’s why the bar in the Untere Schmiedgasse 6 started in 2013 without a name. That worked out at first and the idea came to offer a beer without a name or label, here in beer-country Bavaria. That had many advantages. The beer was judged for itself, without influence from its place of origin. And the white label offered the possibility to be creative for every guest, whether artist or not.
There were pencils everywhere, so that guests could create a label themselves, whether during a pause in the conversation at a first date to as a collaboration during the fifth beer. Many drew and even came because they could draw.
In the last ten years, this has produced a work of art with more than 400 images that mirrors the unique character of those who are part of the night and cultural scene and that of society itself. In the end, the “baby” got its name. Baptized by the construction workers, it is the Bar USG 6.
In addition, small regional and national bands play in the building’s vaulted cellar, built in 1356. A stage, food and drink and the opportunity to stay overnight supports this activity. As part of the Bardentreffen, every year there is a stage in front of the bar – set up with enthusiasm and lots of work – featuring